Finally, The Story Can Be Told

On occasion, Flash and I discuss the TV shows of our youth and I always bring up the show Johnny Sokko and His Flying Robot , the stirring tale of a young Japanese boy and , well, his flying robot, about which all information can be found here .  Sadly, neither Flash nor any others in the room can remember ever seeing this fine example of early Japanese television. In fact, when I bring it up people tend to look askance and shake their heads in pity, as if I had commented on memories of mermaids in Shepody Bay, or manticores living in the woods behind my house. This always saddens me, as it was required Saturday morning viewing when I was a young boy in Dorchester NB. Actually, anything that provided a distraction from life in Dorchester NB was required viewing. Exciting the place was not, but that’s neither here nor there at the moment. What is here and there is the now available on demand DVD set of the complete series . I can now prove to everyone that my memories of this show are not just the delusional memories of a misspent and opium addled youth. Now, if I can just get over the Thunderbirds fixation.

3 Comments

Filed under 1960s, Sci-Fi, Television, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Finally, The Story Can Be Told

  1. Flash

    Now, Doug, I have never questioned your sanity – your sobriety on occasion, but never your sanity… 🙂

  2. Pingback: IT’S HERE!! It’s Here, It’s Here, It’s Here! « Revenge of the Inner Geek

  3. DebDub

    Haha, I remember them as well. In Calcutta it’d be aired every Thursday 7pm (end 80’s early 90’s of course). I was hardly 5… but I loved them… Now just like you “I can now prove to everyone that my memories of this show are not just the delusional memories of a misspent”- childhood. 😀

Leave a Reply

