Robert Culp – R.I.P.

Robert Culp, star of the TV classic I Spy, has died at the age of 79.Β  To say he was merely brilliant would be an understatement. Besides I Spy, he also starred as gung-ho FBI agent Bill Maxwell in The Greatest American Hero in the early ’80s.

In honor of a brilliant actor, I give you the themes from I Spy, which I consider to be one of the best ever written for TV, and The Greatest American Hero, which, despite the risk of ridicule, I quite like also…

For me, one of his most enjoyable performances was as Trent, the immortal warrior in the Outer Limits episode, “Demon With A Glass Hand”, written by Harlan Ellison. Truly one of the finest pieces of sci-fi ever presented on television, IMHO.

And, of course, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention another absolute classic Outer Limits episode, “The Architects of Fear” – if you are at all a fan of Watchmen, you owe it to yourself to watch this one…

A sad farewell to a true master of his craft, and a role model for ‘cool’…

6 Comments

Filed under Epic Awesomeness, Sci-Fi, Spy Games, Television, Uncategorized, Videos, YouTube

6 responses to “Robert Culp – R.I.P.

  1. dan

    You beat me to this one, Flash, I was delayed, first by an inexplicable Youtube failure, and then by the fact that I spent some time trying to find footage of the Man From U.N.C.L.E. episode Culp had appeared in.

    BTW, no ridicule from this quarter, I always had fond memories of Greatest American Hero, it was a welcome antidote to the common comic-book theme that heroes were instantly hyper-competent at their trade.

    A couple of other Robert Culp factoids:

    a. according to Wikipedia (so take w/salt), Culp had been strongly considered for the lead role in Space: 1999, the reason Gerry Anderson didn’t choose him was the fact that Culp not only wanted to star, he also wanted to write/direct.

    b. note should also be taken of the appearance Culp made on The Cosby Show, he played an old friend of Bill Cosby’s character named ‘Kelly Scott’ (neat in-joke there)

  2. Pie

    You know I was watching Columbo on Sunday, which featured Robert Culp (I think he was a regular, like Patrick McGoohan) and I found myself wondering if he was still alive. It’s quite freaky to read this today (yes, I’ve been away for a while, but I’ll be catching up over the next few days). That’s very sad news, but he would’ve entertained millions over the years and that’s something to be proud of.

  3. Pie

    By the way, that’s a great opening theme to I Spy. The graphics were so inventive then.

  4. Flash

    Pie: you’ve got that right, this has to be one of the top ten all-time TV themes. In fact, perhaps you’ve inspired my next post… πŸ™‚

  5. Pie

    If I have inspired another post, then my job is done. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

