The Visitors Return…

Tonight on CTV, the pilot for the newly re-imagined “V” debuts, and I, quite frankly, am looking forward to it, albeit with some reservations.

V--friendship_universal_5485

The original 1980s miniseries (and to a lesser extent the second miniseries, and best not to dwell too long on the short-lived weekly series), in retrospect, is a slice of pure mid-’80s television cheese, but with a surprising amount of thoughfulness about it. Granted, the story begins to become predictable after a short time, but, well, there’s eeeevil Visitor leader Diana for the men to enjoy, a pure, unadulterated meanie who would feel right at home on a reptilian version of Dynasty.

diana-v-series

As always, I’m a little leery of remakes or re-imaginings (although Star Trek did a lot to change that), but, as a fan of TV sci-fi, I’ll give it a chance.

v_showLet’s hope I don’t feel like this tomorrow

So, stop by tomorrow, and I’ll share my views – I’m looking forward to yours as well.

ABC V

P.S.: I’m inclined to disregard this advance review in the New York Times and judge for myself.

1 Comment

Filed under Sci-Fi, Television

One response to “The Visitors Return…

  1. dan

    I too have some misgivings as well, Flash, but considering that they have Firefly’s Morena Baccarin playing the part of Diana, I’m willing to give it the benefit of the doubt.

Leave a Reply

