The Biggest Star in Japan…

Some fun clips and trailers from the long and storied career of that terrible lizard, Godzilla. I’ve grabbed the original Japanese trailers where possible since, well, the Japanese versions of the movies suck considerably less.

First of all, the Japanese original deals with his American imitator once and for all, from Godzilla: Final Wars (2004):

Next, the original Japanese trailer from the film Mothra vs. Godzilla  (1964), which of course includes fan favorite Mosura, a.k.a. Mothra:

I have a soft spot for this one – I first saw it at a 75 cent matinee at the Vogue Theatre back home in Sydney. I was probably all of 9 years old at the time, which is why it seemed better…

Godzilla vs, Megalon (1973):

This is one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen, but it isn’t supposed to be, unfortunately…

Ladies and Gentlemen, the grudge match of the century… King Kong vs. Godzilla (1962):

Featuring my favorite Kaiju (giant monster), Ghidorah, and somewhat bloodier than the American version, here’s Godzilla vs. Gigan (1972):

The frankly quite terrible Godzilla vs Hedorah, a.k.a. Godzilla vs. The Smog Monster (1971)

The monstery goodness that is Destroy All Monsters! (1968):

As an added bonus, here’s the first eight minutes of Destroy All Monsters!:

My homeboy, Ghidorah, the Three-Headed Monster (1964):

And finally, my personal favorite, starring American actor Nick Adams, Monster Zero (1965):

Back soon with more trailers!

3 Comments

Filed under 1960s, 1970s, Film, Sci-Fi, Trailers

3 responses to “The Biggest Star in Japan…

  1. dan

    For me, my first exposure was ‘Godzilla vs Mothra’ – saw it as a late night movie, back when networks ran movies after midnight instead of info-mercials. I also have a soft spot in my heart for the ‘Godzilla Power Hour’ cartoons – I think it was the ’70s or ’80s, with Godzookie….

  2. Flash

    Saturday afternoons were legendary for me when I was a kid – watch ‘Star Trek’, then run like mad for the theater for the 75 cent matinee. Three Stooges short, cartoon, cheesy sci-fi feature… It didn’t get any better. I’d buy most of these on DVD if I had enough cash. I’ll have to have a ‘Godzilla-Fest’ when I get my projection-screen TV.

  3. dan

    Star Trek for me was weekday afternoons – Saturday afternoons were ‘Abbott and Costello’ for a long while. My big cheesy sci-fi period was when I was older – one of my friends lived just down the road, and we would go down to the local video store on Saturday afternoons, and would pick up cheesy films – anything of the ___2 or 3 oeuvre, on the grounds that we were usually too hung over to watch anything that actually involved a plotline. I also remember that a girl we knew used to rent out teen slasher horror films – we were playing D&D at the time and would spend the time offering helpful advice to the people in the movie.

Leave a Reply

