My Favorite Pastime

win-pictures-viewmaster

Is collecting View-Masters and reels. Nothing makes me happier than to find a new set of reels , or a new viewer, or another projector. My most recent reel set is a packaged 3-reel “Mork and Mindy” set from the 1970s. I also have original 1960s Lost in Space, Star Trek, Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea and Bonanza sets, as well as countless scenic reels, the oldest being from 1948.

A couple of reel sets I am most proud of:

fbb4_1_b

viewmasterd0021x

I personally had never seen a commercial for View-Masters, so I had never seen this one, with Henry Fonda and a very young Jodie Foster:

Just as a few examples, I have one of these, produced between 1944 and 1947:

Sawyers View-Master Model B (common black version)

A bunch of these, 1946-1955:

Sawyers View-Master Model C  (early outlined versions)

A few of these, 1955-1977:

g-viewerOne of these bizarre and nearly non-functional models, 1986-1990:

m-viewerAnd a couple of these, 1989-1996:

mickey-viewer

All in all, it is a fun hobby, and surprisingly inexpensive. You wouldn’t believe how many people remember and love the View-Master.

I know I do!

Flash (Klik-klik)

2 Comments

Filed under Commercials, Those Wonderful Toys...

2 responses to “My Favorite Pastime

  1. Doug

    For your viewing pleasure I present the following link: http://www.toplessrobot.com/2008/05/the_5_coolest_and_lamest_viewmaster_slides.php?page=2 . Pay very close attention to the cast members of Bonanza. Apparently they weren’t quite as family friendly as we were lead to believe. Or perhaps they didn’t like asian railway workers. I guess we’ll never know for sure.

  2. Flash

    I know! That was a hoot – I didn’t believe it until I bought the reels and saw it myself!

Leave a Reply

